
  

 

 
 

WYOMING BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
2515 WARREN AVENUE, SUITE 302 

CHEYENNE, WY  82002 
307-777-3534 

 
Endorsement Requirements and Procedures 

 

Requirements: 
 Must have a current License from another State 

 Be able to obtain Official Certification of Record(s) from the State of your original license and Certification or Verification 
from any State licensed by Endorsement 

 Graduated from a State licensed/authorized Cosmetology School 

 Taken a written and practical exam given by the Board of Cosmetology or Testing Company 

 Have at least 1600 hours for Cosmetology, 1000 for Hair Stylist, 400 for Nail Technology, or 600 for Esthetician 

 If you do not meet the hour requirements listed above you must prove at least one year work history  
 

Procedures: 
 

1. Complete and return to the Board office the notarized license application along with; 
a. Copy of current professional license   
b. Copy of Government issued ID 
c. Copy of Social Security Card 
d. Copy of Proof of Lawful Presence (acceptable documentation is listed below) 
e. Work history, if applicable  
f. Wyoming Laws, Rules and Regulation Assessment 
g. Endorsement Fee: $273.00 (money order, cashier’s check, debit card, or credit card only - no personal checks) 

 
2. Request all Certifications and/or Verifications from every state you have held a professional license to be sent to the 

Wyoming Board of Cosmetology  
 

 
PROOF OF LAWFUL PRESENCE MUST BE INCLUDED WITH THIS APPLICATION 

 
The Federal Government requires our office to have a copy of ‘Proof of Lawful Presence’ on file for every licensee.  The following list 
is considered acceptable documentation for proof of lawful presence. 

 A photo copy of a certified birth certificate (not a hospital document) issued in or by a city, county, state, or government 

entity within the United States or its outlying possessions. 

 A photo copy of a U.S. certificated of birth abroad (FS-545, DS-135) or a report of birth abroad of a U.S. citizen (FS-240) 

 A photo copy of a birth certificate or passport issued from: Puerto Rico, on or before January 13, 1941; Guam, on or after 

April 10, 1898; U.S. Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927; Northern Mariana Islands on after November 4, 1986; 

American Samoa; Swain’s Island; or District of Columbia. 

 A photo copy of a U.S. passport  

 A photo copy of a certificate of naturalization 

 A photo copy of a certificate of citizenship 

 A photo copy of a U.S. citizen identification car 

 A photo copy of an individual fee registration receipt (form G-711) that shows that the person has filed application for a 

new naturalization or citizenship paper (form N-565) 

 A photo copy of any other document which establishes a U.S. place of birth or indicates U.S. citizenship.  

 

 

 

 



  

 

 

TAKEN FROM: WYOMING BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY STATUTE, RULES AND REGULATIONS 

 
33-12-132  

LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 
An applicant for a license to practice or instruct cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, or hair styling in Wyoming who is a qualified and 
currently licensed cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, hair stylist, or instructor in another state, upon submitting an application to 
the board, a certification from the board or licensing agency of the state in which the applicant is licensed, proof of meeting the 
requirements of this section and payment of the required fee, may receive a cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, hair stylist, or 
instructor license by endorsement without examination in this state.  An applicant from another state which does not require a board 
examination for licensure, or an applicant who did not attend a cosmetology,  nail technology, esthetics, hair styling, or instructor school 
meeting requirements of the rules of the board and the licensing entity of the state in which the school is located, shall not obtain a 
Wyoming license by endorsement.   An applicant from another state who has not practiced cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics or hair 
styling full time for at least one (1) year prior to application shall obtain a Wyoming license by endorsement only if he was licensed under 
requirements which the board determines to be at least equal to those established pursuant to this act. 
 
 33-12-133  

 FOREIGN APPLICANTS 
Applicants licensed or trained in a foreign country shall present an English translation of the requirements they met in that country.  The 
credentials shall be presented to the board for consideration, and a determination as to what requirements are necessary to obtain a 
license in Wyoming. 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



  

For Office Use Only: 
 
License Type_________________________________ 
 
Date of Original License________________________ 
 
License Number______________________________ 

                                                                    WYOMING BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
                                                                      2515 Warren Ave., Suite 302, Cheyenne WY, 82002 
                                                                        (307) 777-3534           www.cosmetology.wy.gov 

 

                                                                                               LICENSE APPLICATION 
 

                 
   
*Refer to the Qualifications, Requirements and Procedures to obtain a Wyoming License 

    
Endorsement Fees: 

 Must be submitted in the form of a Money Order, Cashier’s Check, Credit or Debit Card payment (credit card form enclosed) Personal 
checks will not be accepted 

 
Endorsement Fee:   $ 225.00  (Law Book Included) 
License Fee   $  48.00 
TOTAL    $273.00 
 

* * * No refunds, Chapter 1, Section 2 State Rules and Regulations * * * 

 
TYPE OF LICENSE APPLYING FOR: COSMETOLOGIST ___ HAIR STYLIST ___ NAIL TECH ___ ESTHETICIAN ____ INSTRUCTOR ____     WAX TECH____ 
 
NAME IN FULL _________________________________________________________________________(______________________________________________) 
 
 
CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS:____________________________________________________________City, State, Zip ____________________________________ 
    (Please notify the office of any change) 
 
PHONE (________)____________________________         Birth Date_______/_______/__________         SOCIAL SECURITY # _________ - _______ - ___________ 
 
 
MALE (        )            FEMALE (        )     EMAIL ADDRESS________________________________________________________________ 
     
 
From which state(s) do you now or have ever held a license____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
       

You must have your license before you become engaged in any practice regulated by the State of Wyoming and it must be  
posted at your place of employment. 

 
1.   Has any state(s) rejected your application or disciplined, restricted, revoked or suspended your license?  Yes_______ No______ 
2.   Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your license in order to avoid disciplinary action by any regulatory agency? Yes_______ No______ 
3.   Have you ever been convicted of any felony?       Yes_______ No______    
4.   Do you now use, or within the last five (5) years have you  used, alcoholic beverages habitually to excess?  Yes_______ No______ 
5.   Do you now use, or within the last five (5) years have you used hallucinogenic, barbiturates, narcotics of any 
      controlled  substance habitually to excess?       Yes_______ No______ 

(If you answered ‘Yes’ to any of the above questions, please attach a detailed explanation including state(s) and outcome) 
 

               
     AFFIDAVIT AND NOTARIZATION 

 
 
The undersigned, being duly sworn, upon his oath deposes and says that he is the person making the foregoing statements and that they are made in  
good faith and are true in every respect. 
 
STATE OF ________________________________________    
 
COUNTY OF ______________________________________         ____________________________________________________ 
         SIGNATURE OF LICENSEE               
                     (Must Be Witnessed by a Notary) 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME THIS __________DAY OF _________________________, 20____   
 
           NOTARY SEAL 
SIGNATURE _________________________________________________________________________________ 
  NOTARY PUBLIC    EXPIRES    

 

http://www.cosmetology.wy.gov/


  

 

WYOMING BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
 

 

Wyoming Laws, Rules and Regulation Assessment  
 
 

Please answer the following questions pertaining to Wyoming Laws, Rules and Regulations. Information 
pertaining to the following questions may be found on our website at http://cosmetology.wy.gov.  This 
assessment must be returned to the Board office with all Endorsement and Reinstatement applications prior 
to approval. 
 
Correct answers will be provided with your Wyoming license. 
 
 

1. Prior to use on any client, porous items must be disinfected.     True  or  False  

 

2. Hands only need to be thoroughly washed prior to every client.     True  or  False 

 

3. All disinfectant solution must be changed per the manufacturer’s label or sooner if contaminated.     True  or  False 

 

4. Disinfected implements must be stored in a disinfected, dry covered container.     True  or  False 

 

5. In the event of a blood exposure, all soiled items must be bagged prior to disposing.    True  or  False 

 

6. Trash receptacles do not need lids.    True  or False 

 

7. Hand sanitizers shall be provided in all work areas.     True  or  False 

 

8. There are no prohibited items in Wyoming.     True  or  False 

 

9. Open food and drink are allowed in the work area.     True  or False 

 

10. Licenses, rules, and notices shall be displayed in an unobstructed area of the salon.     True  or  False 

 

11. If the license expires the licensee can work during the 90 day grace period.     True  or  False 

 

12. The Wyoming Law book defines scope of practice for each license type.     True  or  False 

 

13. Independent Contractors are solely responsible for all common areas of the salon.     True  or  False 

 

14. Labeled disinfectant shall be kept at the shampoo bowl and used after each client.     True  or  False 

 

15. Implements including handles must be completely immersed in disinfectant.     True  or  False 

 

 

 
 



  

 
 

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
2515 Warren Avenue, Suite 302 

Cheyenne, WY   82002 
          (307) 777-3534     

www.cosmetology.wy.gov 
 

PROOF OF WORKING EXPERIENCE 
 
TO BE COMPLETED ONLY IF YOU DO NOT MEET THE HOUR REQUIREMENTS FOR A WYOMING COSMETOLOGY LICENSE 
 
Applicant must have practiced cosmetology, nail technology, and/or esthetics in a salon for one year (at least fifty 50 
weeks with no less than thirty six 36 hours practice per week).  Employment at one or more salons may be combined to 
meet the qualifications.  This form must be completed by the employer and signed in front of a Notary. 
 
*If self-employed please provide the Board office with one year tax forms to show proof of a year’s employment. 
 
 
This is to certify that _______________________________________________ Social Security # ______ - ____ - ______ 
     Applicant’s Name 
was employed as a   (    ) Cosmetologist   (    )   Hair Stylist  (    )  Nail Tech     (    ) Esthetician 
 
From: ____________________________________   To: ____________________________________ 
 
Name of Salon  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address _________________________________________City __________________ State ______ Zip  _____________ 
 
Phone (_____)______________________________ 
 
  Employer’s Statement: All information herein provided is true in every respect 
 
Employer’s Name _______________________________________________________________________ (Please Print) 
 
 
 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT AND NOTARIZATION 
 
The undersigned being duly sworn, upon his oath deposes and says that he is the person making the foregoing statements and that they are made 
in good faith and are true in every respect. 
 
STATE OF _______________________________                              ____________________________________________________________ 
                          SIGNATURE OF EMPLOYER 
COUNTY OF _____________________________                                (Must Be Witnessed by a Notary) 
 
 
GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND NOTARIAL SEAL THIS _______ DAY OF ____________________________, 20_____ 
             
             
SIGNATURE ____________________________________________________________________________ NOTARY SEAL 

NOTARY PUBLIC    EXPIRES 



  

 

 
Wyoming Board of Cosmetology 

2515 Warren Avenue, Suite 302 
Cheyenne, WY   82002   Phone: (307) 777-3534 

 

Credit Card Authorization  
 
 

 The Board office will accept VISA, MASTERCARD, and DISCOVER.  This document will be shredded when payment has 
processed. 

 
 
Your signature below authorizes the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology to charge applicable fees for the individual or individuals listed 
on this form. (Please double check all information for accuracy). 
 
CREDIT CARD TYPE  [   ] VISA    [   ] MASTERCARD       [   ] DISCOVER 
 
CREDIT CARD NUMBER:        _______________  _______ 
 
CVV2:___  (3 digit # on the back of the card)                   EXPIRATION DATE:  MO ____ ____ YR  _______ 
 
 

 
 
NAME AS IT APPREARS ON THE CARD:         ______________ 
 
BILLING (STREET) ADDRESS:           _______ 
 
CITY:     ST:  ZIP:         TELEPHONE #  _______________  
 
SIGNATURE:         DATE:    _______ 
 

 
 

 There is an additional charge of $4.00 for all credit card payments 
 
 
[   ] Certification of Record: $25.00 (when applying for a license outside of Wyoming) 
 
Licensing Fees: 
 
[   ] Personal License:  Refer to your renewal form for the correct fee 

[   ] Salon License:  $75.00  

[   ] Independent Contractor License:  $75.00  

[   ] Duplicate License:  $10.00  

[   ] Endorsement Application: $273.00  

[   ] Reinstatement Application: Refer to your reinstatement application for the correct fee 

[   ] New Salon Application:  $300.00  

[   ] School License:  $200.00 fee  

[   ] New School Application:  $575.00  

[   ] Salon Relocation:  $225.00  


