YOU CAN NOW RENEW YOUR PERSONAL AND

SALON LICNESE ONLINE AT
HTTP;//COSMETOLOGY.WY.GOV
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Salon Renewal Reminder

Salon Licenses are due by December 31, 2014, please send the renewal amount of $75.00
with the renewal application, you can also renew online.

The Governor’s office has released the following information:

Board Vacancy 3 (three): January 2015—January 2018 (these position may be reappointed)
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BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY W.S. 33-12-121 Number of Seats:: 3 Meetings:: no fewer than
4 per year. Duties: To examine, license, as needed to inspect Cosmetology Salons and
Schools; prescribe sanitation rules. Terms: 3 years. Appointment Distribution: Each member
shall be a cosmetologist licensed in Wyoming with at least 5 years experience as a cosmetolo-
gist immediately preceding the appointment; at lease (1) shall be an instructor licensed in
Wyoming. Appointments will represent various geographical areas of Wyoming. No mem-
ber shall be affiliated with or hold interest in any cosmetology school while serving on the
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3534.

FOR AN APPLICATION contact Betty, Executive Director, Board of Cosmetology at (307) 777-

Board Members News

Last year Judy Stellpflug stepped down from the Board
to enjoy some time to travel and enjoy her family. Judy
was a great addition to the Board and will be missed.
We hope you wiill all join us in wishing her well with her
future endeavors. But as much as we hated to see Judy
go the Board was very fortunate in her replacement. In
January of last year the Governor appointed Tregay
“Pinky” Chesser to the Board. Pinky resides in Wheat-
land with her husband and children , she owns and op-
erates a local salon there. Please join us in welcoming
her to the Board.

NIC (National Interstate Council Of State Boards of Cosmetology)

Wyoming is fortunate to be involved with the National
Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC).
The function of NIC is to promote the protection of the
health and safety, and welfare of the professional work-
force by actively pursing excellence in Cosmetology and
related fields. NIC is composed of licensing boards of cos-
metology in all fifty states and US territories.

We would like to recognize our Board President Dennis
Schildhauer for being elected as a Region Director for
NIC, he also serves on the NIC Executive Board.




PAGE 2

BOARD MEMBERS

DENNIS SCHILDHAUER- PRESIDENT
Cheyenne 307-777-3534

Term 1/12-1/15

CHRIS CHESSER - VICE PRESIDENT
Riverton 307-856-0476

Term 1/12-1/15
TREGAY “PINKY” CHESSER - SECRETARY
Cheyenne 307-322-9167

Term 1/14-1/17

DIANE PENNINGTON

Gillette 307-680-2617
Term 1/12-1/15
BRENDA SCHWARTZKOPF
Saratoga 307-326-8066
Term 1/10-1/16

Animals in the Salon

Just a reminder to all salon owners, per
Wyoming rules and regulations you may
not have animals in the salon, unless it is
a seeing eye, guide or service dog for an
impaired person, this does not include
therapy dogs. This law pertains to the
salon owner, employees and patrons.

Board Office Request

We would like to ask that licen-
sees do not send cash in the mail. This is
mostly for your benefit as we do have items
lost in the mail now more than ever. Please
send payments in the form of personal
checks, money orders or credit cards, you can
also renew on line.

THE HAIR PRESS

Board of Cosmetology

On-Line

L

:E, Please visit on line at

www.cosmetology.wy.gov

You wiill find Board Rules & Regulations,
forms and other useful information.

License Expiration and
Grace Period

A Cosmetology license (cosmetology,
hairstylist, nail tech, esthetics, instructor) ex-
pires on the expiration date listed on your
license.  After that date you are no longer
able to work under this license. All license
must be posted and current .

The grace period of three (3) months can only
be used if your are not working in the field of
cosmetology. This gives you an additional
three (3) months to renew your license with-
out late fees or penalties.

Wyoming Schools

Abraxes School of Cosmetology
(307) 382-5449, Rock Springs

Basics School of Beauty
(307) 237-5577, Casper

Cheeks International Academy
(307) 637-8700, Cheyenne

College of Cosmetology
(307) 682-0242, Gillette

Eastern Wyoming College
(307) 532-8265, Torrington

IBMC
(307)433-8363

Rocky Mountain Academy
(307) 237-4247, Casper

Southwestern Beauty Academy
(307) 875-2126, Green River

Styles School of Cosmetology
(307) 856-7496, Riverton

True Colors Training Center
(307) 674-1711, Sheridan

DATES FOR BOARD EXAMINATIONS & MEETINGS

ALL EXAMINATIONS ARE
GIVEN ON SUNDAY

Nail Tech sign in at: 7:45a.m.
Esthetics signin at : 7:45 am.
Cosmetology &

Hair Styling sign in at: 8:00 a.m.

There is a break scheduled between practical
& written exams

2014 Exam Dates

September 14, 2014
Deadline: August 25, 2014
No Board Meeting g

November 9, 2014
Deadline: October 20, 2014

The exams listed will be held at:

The Parkway Plaza Hotel

here are special room rates for the
oard exams. Call: 1{800)270-7829 if you
wish to make a reservation.)

All final papers, includin

123 W. ‘E’ Street
Casper, WY

applica-

Board Meeting

November 10, 2014 at 9:00 a.m.

tion and fees are required to be in
the Board office 15 working days
prior to the exam date. This time
period is required so the admis-
sion letter and candidate informa-
tion bulletin can reach the exami-
nees in time to prepare for the
exam.
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DISCIPLINARY ACTION

There is no disciplinary action with the Board at this time.

NOTES FROM THE INSPECTOR

Recurring violations noticed by inspectors during inspections:

1. Licenses not being posted

All licenses must be posted, Independent Contractor license have to be posted at work stations.
e Salon and Independent Contractor inspection sheets have to be posted in public view

e When hiring a new stylist, their current license must be posted prior to the start of employment, this includes
Independent Contractors.

e When opening a salon the salon license must be posted in the salon prior to opening. You must have licen-
sees with current Wyoming licenses posted prior to receiving the salon license.

2. Dirty wax machines

e Wax on and around the machine

e Dirty wax sticks left in or on wax machine
3. Improper mixing of disinfectant

e When you mix a disinfectant with water it has a limited shelf life, for example Barbicide has a shelf life once
mixed of 72 hours.

4. Capes are being placed directly in contact with client’s skin.
e You must use a clean neck strip or towel with every client.
5. Animals in Salons

e Per Wyoming Rules and Regulations, Chapter 10, section (e), No dogs, cats, birds, fish or animal of any kind
shall be allowed on premises designated as a salon or school. Seeing eye, guide, or service dogs for impaired
persons are permitted. Therapy dogs are not permitted. This pertains to the salon owner, employees and
cliental.

6. Dirty clippers.
e Remember to disinfect your clippers and guards after each client, and stored with blade covered.
7. Improper use of disinfectants.

e Disinfectant used to clean tables, implements, and tools, should be hospital grade which means the label
should say Bactericide, fungicide, virucidal.

8. No disinfectant at the shampoo bowl.

e Disinfectant should be kept at the shampoo bowl for easy use, and used between every client.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Remember that along with the laws, rules and regulations of the Board of Cosmetology, it is also important to
keep up with current OSHA requirements. The following are two links which may be helpfully to keep your
salon in compliance.

° https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/hairsalons/government_response.htmi

° https.//www.osha.gov/dcsp/smallbusiness/consult.html



https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/hairsalons/government_response.html
https://www.osha.gov/dcsp/smallbusiness/consult.html
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Sanitation Reminders
Waxing

It is important to separate unused wax from wax to be used on a client. This will prevent the cross contamination of mi-
croorganisms from a clients skin to the unused wax stock.

In order to do this waxes shall be poured or removed from stock using a new clean spatula or ladle and placed into a
clean container prior to each client treatment. If more wax is required a new spatula shall be used. (A new ladle is not
required providing the ladle does not come into contact with any material that is in use on the client.) Disposable spatu-
las and containers shall be discarded into an appropriate waste receptacle after use. Reusable containers shall be cleaned
and disinfected between each client.

Any wooden spatulas used for applying strip wax must be disposed of after use on each client. If metal spatulas are used
they must be cleaned and disinfected between every client. No double dipping.

Manicuring

Fungal, viral and bacterial infections are transferable through manicure treatments. It is very easy to cut a clients skin
when cutting cuticles or break the skin if you file too deeply. For this reason it is recommended that all instruments are
single use and disposed of immediately after use, or they must be suitably cleaned and disinfected in accordance with
Wyoming Rules and Regulations.

Any instrument, such as cuticle clippers, that may have been contaminated with blood or other body fluids must be
cleaned and disinfected in accordance with Wyoming Rules and Regulations. It is recommended that clients with visible
nail or skin infections be referred to a medical practitioner prior to undertaking a manicure or pedicure. All clients should
wash their hands prior to any manicure services.

Complaints

The Board office on occasion will receive calls regarding complaints on a Salon or licensee from another Sa-
lon or licensee.

Per Wyoming Law, all complaints must be submitted to the Board office in writing and the complainant must
provide as much information as possible. These complaints must also be signed. We are unable to take a
verbal complaints by phone.

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY STAFF
Betty Abernethy. Executive Director i) v § BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
Sharon Bennett, Administrative Assistant J ? = Hansen Building—East Entrance
Brenda Mathre, Inspector/Investigator / Al 2515 Warren Ave., Suite 302,
Matt Cisneros, Inspector/Investigator (® Cheyenne, WY 82002
/_\ PHONE (307)777-3534 FAX (307)777-3681

www.cosmetology.wy.gov
HOURS: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

* REMEMBER TO RENEW SALON LICENSES BY DECEMBER 31 AND INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS BY AUGUST 31 OF EACH YEAR*



